10 Female Celebrities on Why Being Single is Awesome

yara shahidi makeup hairstyles
credit: @emilychengmakeup/Instagram

Spinster. Old maid. Crazy cat lady; Society is not kind to single women.

Not to mention the double standard. Single men are bachelors while single ladies are dubbed losers. But that’s bullshit because being single is awesome!

Singledom is empowering. It gives you the freedom to do what you like when you like without having to check in with another human. And I’m not the only one who thinks so. Taylor Swift, Mindy Kaling, Yara Shahidi and more are all fans of going stag.

But if you’re feeling stressed about going solo, just read these quotes from our favorite women and count your lucky stars that you’re sans a plus-one.

Yara Shahidi

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Jason Bolden (@jasonbolden)

“My general outlook is if I don’t have time to take a bath on a regular basis, then I don’t have time for another human. I love being busy, and I enjoy where I am at right now.”

Taylor Swift

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Taylor Swift (@taylorswift)

“I recommend to all my friends that they be alone for a while. When you’re in love or dating someone, you filter your life decisions through their eyes. When you spend a few years being who you are, completely unbiased, you can figure out what you actually want.”

Eva Longoria

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Eva Longoria Baston (@evalongoria)

“I’m not alone! I’m with myself. And myself is fabulous.”

Rihanna

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by badgalriri (@badgalriri)

“Guys need attention. They need that nourishment, that little stroke of the ego that gets them by every now and then. I’ll give it to my family, I’ll give it to my work – but I will not give it to a man right now.”

Mindy Kaling

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mindy Kaling (@mindykaling)

“My work is so rewarding and I’m so self-centered about it that I’m kind of excited about not having to go home and ask someone about their day.”

Jennifer Lopez

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Jennifer Lopez (@jlo)

“I was waiting for Prince Charming. Everybody I met was going to be the guy I was going to spend my life with. And then you realize, ‘I’m strong, I’m my own keeper, my own savior.'”

Constance Wu

“When I’m alone, I’m alone. I don’t have anybody to call, and so I have to create meaning from myself. That’s why I don’t give a fuck because I can’t lose anything. What I have I make myself.”

Miley Cyrus

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Miley Cyrus (@mileycyrus)

“I think that’s a new freedom for women, especially. I don’t know that my mother would have been able to be 22 and secure in being alone. But my future doesn’t rely on having a partner.”

Gloria Steinem

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Gloria Steinem (@gloriasteinem)

“We are becoming the men we wanted to marry.”

READ THIS NEXT

12 Famous Women Give Advice on Self-Care

Lena Finkel
Lena Finkel is the Editor and Founder of Femestella. Prior to starting Femestella, she worked at People, InStyle, Tiger Beat, and Sesame Workshop (aka Sesame Street). She loves all things Real Housewives and The Challenge. When she's not busy binge-watching TV, you can find her taking an absurd amount of photos of her tuxedo cat Tom.